Sauerkraut: my gateway into fermentation

You know when you don’t know how much you know?

This blog post at Treading my own Path gives a really good step-by-step guide to making sauerkraut in your kitchen without any fancy equipment.

It made me realise that I can now put together a batch of sauerkraut without too much fuss. I know the process well enough to enjoy chopping the cabbage, massaging it with salt and packing it into the jar, all while listening to a podcast.

Then it’s just a matter of letting the microbes do their work over time. Ferments are a good lesson in patience, a virtue that I could work on! They are also a great way to reuse glass jars, preserve food when it’s good, add beneficial gut bacteria to your microbiome, and make you feel like a boss in the kitchen.

After not too many batches I know which jar to use for one big head of cabbage, and which bottle fits nicely inside that jar to weigh the cabbage down. I have a separate bag of cloths in my rag bag just for covering ferments. I know the rules enough to bend them; adding different vegetables, herbs and spices that I think might taste good.

In this last batch I used fresh dill and some baby carrots. (I’ve lost the lid to this jar which is why it’s covered with a beeswax wrap.)

Sauerkraut
I try to include ingredient lists on jar labels, so if a batch turns out well I can do it again

I had made sauerkraut once or twice before, but this year I read a book that has changed my life. It is The Art of Fermentation by Sandor Ellix Katz. It is a wonderful manifesto about microbes, food and food politics, human connection, traditions, and respecting life in all its forms (including microbial life.) I read paragraphs of it out loud to anyone who would listen and almost cried when returning it to the library.  I try to think carefully before purchasing anything, but months later I’m still quoting it  – so I think it may be a book I need to own.

Now I make sauerkraut regularly. Also yogurt. Cultured butter and buttermilk. I’ve fermented daikon radish with nasturtium leaves, olives from our tree, and brined nasturtium seed pods to make caper-like nuggets of goodness.  I realised I have been fermenting grains for porridge for years. The Man and I are planning on fermenting our own beer at home. So many other things I want to try.

So if you are considering making your own sauerkraut, go forth and ferment! But beware – sauerkraut is a fermenting gateway, and you may not want to stop…

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Weddings By Jess Blog

Melbourne's favourite wedding celebrant: Weddings by Jess shares her advice, experience and wisdom through a heartfelt and down to earth blog series

knitsbywhit

Exploring the world one fiber at a time

Matt Hern Money Coach

Afford a life that lights you up!

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

Raspberry Thriller

Sustainable living with a passion for baking

Maggie Dent

Choosing less waste, and more living

A Dress A Day

A dress, nearly every day.

Liz Pearson Mann

Rooted in landscape, traditional culture and evergreen skills

Going Zero Waste

Choosing less waste, and more living

Eight Acres Natural Living - Eight Acres - the blog

Choosing less waste, and more living

tin can knits

joyful seamless knitting patterns

fairywrencottage.com

Choosing less waste, and more living

Mama In A Stitch

simple knit, crochet & artsy things

My Green Closet

Choosing less waste, and more living